Lucky Seven: Badgers claim seventh National Title

UW womens hockey team

UW makes history with record-number titles

DULUTH, Minn. – The Wisconsin women’s hockey team claimed its record-breaking seventh NCAA title thanks to a thrilling 1-0 win over Ohio State on Sunday afternoon at AMSOIL Arena. Kirsten Simms scored the lone goal for the Badgers (29-10-3) as they upset the No. 1 Buckeyes (33-6-2) in the 2023 NCAA National Championship game. Simms struck first for the Badgers just 6:32 into the first period for her 16th goal of the season thanks to an assist from fellow freshman Claire Enright. The Badgers had several great chances in the second period, outshooting OSU 11-6, but neither team was able to light the lamp. After a scoreless third period, the Badgers were named the 2023 NCAA National Champions! Cami Kronish stopped all 31 shots she faced to shutout the top-ranked Buckeyes.

Notes of the Game

  • Wisconsin now holds the most national titles (7) in all of NCAA women’s ice hockey. UW was previously tied with Minnesota with six titles.
  • This marks the first time a team has been shutout in a national championship game since the Badgers shutout Minnesota 2-0 in the 2019 NCAA Championship in Hamden, Conn.
  • Five Badgers, including Jesse Compher, Laila Edwards, Caroline Harvey, Cami Kronish and Kirsten Simms were named to the 2023 NCAA Frozen Four All-Tournament team.
  • Goalie Cami Kronish was named the Most Outstanding Player of the 2023 NCAA Frozen Four following her shutout.

Read More