Two UW-Madison teams chosen 2022 WARF Innovation Award winners

Two UW-Madison teams chosen 2022 WARF Innovation Award winners

WARF innovation awards

An engineering physics team using carbon nanotubes to build armor that’s stronger than Kevlar and a cross-disciplinary team making it less painful to diagnose a debilitating autoimmune disorder have taken top honors from WARF.

The 2022 WARF Innovation Award has been given to the University of Wisconsin-Madison’s Ramathasan Thevamaran, assistant professor of engineering physics, and postdoctoral researcher Jizhe Cai for their work, New, Lightweight Material to Protect Against Bullets and Other High-Speed Impacts.

The second winning team includes Sara McCoy, associate professor of medicine; Miriam Shelef, associate professor of medicine; Michael Newton, chair of biostatistics and medical informatics; and statistics graduate student Zihao Zheng for their work, Innovative New Diagnostic Test for Sjögren’s Syndrome.

An independent panel of judges selected the winners from a field of six finalists drawn from several hundred invention disclosures submitted to WARF over the prior 12 months. The winning teams each receive an award of $10,000, with the funds going to the named UW-Madison inventors.

Full article, including other finalists